Halomods Community Portal: KSoft.Tool - Halomods Community Portal

Jump to content

  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

HaloWars
KSoft.Tool

Tool for modding Halo Wars ERA files

#21 User is offline   mobius1 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 11-December 11

Posted 28 December 2011 - 04:23 AM

View Postkornman00, on 28 December 2011 - 03:57 AM, said:

Really, all you need to do is expand the archives, mod whatever data, then rebuild\pack the archive. root.era contains all of the general game definitions. Map .era files will have their specialized data (eg, objects, triggers, etc).Expanding an archive along with translating all XMB files back into XML will provide you with easy modding of those files, but it will take longer for the game to load the archive once it's rebuilt\packed with XML files (as it has to parse the XML which is really inefficient). The best route is to expand an archive without performing any XMB translations, then expand the same archive to a different directory but this time with XMB->XML enabled. You can then mod those XML files, then put them in the first expanded archive's directory (the one with no XMB translations). You'll then need to update the listing xml file that KSoft.Tool operates on. It should have some\path\to\file.xml.xmb (or .physics.xmb, etc). Instead you just need to lob off the .xmb and it will then process the raw .xml file (or .physics, etc) instead.

I'm assuming that you're saying at first have -switches=001 then change it to -switches=000, right?

#22 User is offline   kornman00 

  • SourceGuy 2.0
  • Group: Administrators
  • Joined: 15-November 01


Users Awards

Posted 28 December 2011 - 07:46 AM

Other way around. For the first, don't specify any the switch option (or just do -switches=000, which it defaults to when it isn't specified). Then for the second, use 001 (ie, the third switch, converting XMB->XML, is on/active)

#23 User is offline   mobius1 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 11-December 11

Posted 28 December 2011 - 05:41 PM

It worked fine but I screwed up on the xex part.
I'm going to need one of your modded xex if this is going to work.

This post has been edited by mobius1: 28 December 2011 - 07:20 PM


#24 User is offline   kornman00 

  • SourceGuy 2.0
  • Group: Administrators
  • Joined: 15-November 01


Users Awards

Posted 28 December 2011 - 09:18 PM

Refer to Part III of the Readme, for Xex Patching. You need to take the english xex, run it thru xextool using the options specified, then the patch can be applied.

#25 User is offline   mobius1 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 11-December 11

Posted 28 December 2011 - 09:50 PM

Got the wrong version.

#26 User is offline   mobius1 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 11-December 11

Posted 01 January 2012 - 04:00 PM

Is there a way to add aircraft to the airpad?

#27 User is offline   kornman00 

  • SourceGuy 2.0
  • Group: Administrators
  • Joined: 15-November 01


Users Awards

Posted 01 January 2012 - 11:37 PM

objects.xml\unsc_bldg_airPad_01

#28 User is offline   mobius1 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 11-December 11

Posted 02 January 2012 - 09:46 PM

I'm trying to add a "Hawk" but it appears to be an upgrade to the already existing "hornet", is there a way to make it independent from the hornet?

#29 User is offline   kornman00 

  • SourceGuy 2.0
  • Group: Administrators
  • Joined: 15-November 01


Users Awards

Posted 03 January 2012 - 04:22 AM

Add a TrainSquad command to a free/unused position.

#30 User is offline   mobius1 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 11-December 11

Posted 03 January 2012 - 05:19 AM

I get it! It's only available if the trigger "cpgn_grant_hawk" is present in the scenario.

#31 User is offline   kornman00 

  • SourceGuy 2.0
  • Group: Administrators
  • Joined: 15-November 01


Users Awards

Posted 03 January 2012 - 12:02 PM

Which scenario is that trigger from?

#32 User is offline   mobius1 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 11-December 11

Posted 03 January 2012 - 02:50 PM

Last level, It explains why I have all the leader powers.
This works:
<Object name="unsc_bldg_airPad_01" id="0" dbid="139">
		<ObjectClass>Building</ObjectClass>
		<Visual>unsc\building\airpad_01\airpad_01.vis</Visual>
		<PhysicsInfo>unsc_bldg_airpad</PhysicsInfo>
		<PortraitIcon>ui\flash\HUD\hud_menu\hud_menu_icons\final_unsc\bldg_airpad</PortraitIcon>
		<MinimapIcon size="5">Building</MinimapIcon>
		<DisplayNameID>10032</DisplayNameID>
		<RolloverTextID>10033</RolloverTextID>
		<PrereqTextID>232</PrereqTextID>
		<RoleTextID>513</RoleTextID>
		<MovementType>Land</MovementType>
		<Hitpoints>15000</Hitpoints>
		<CombatValue>10</CombatValue>
		<LOS>55</LOS>
		<BuildPoints>5</BuildPoints>
		<Cost ResourceType="Supplies">150</Cost>
		<Cost ResourceType="Power">2</Cost>
		<Bounty>7</Bounty>
		<Veterancy Level="1" XP="0" Damage="1.15" Velocity="1" Accuracy="1.6" WorkRate="1.2" WeaponRange="1" DamageTaken="0.87" />
		<Veterancy Level="2" XP="0" Damage="1.25" Velocity="1" Accuracy="1.7" WorkRate="1.2" WeaponRange="1" DamageTaken="0.8" />
		<Veterancy Level="3" XP="0" Damage="1.35" Velocity="1" Accuracy="1.8" WorkRate="1.2" WeaponRange="1" DamageTaken="0.74" />
		<Veterancy Level="4" XP="0" Damage="2" Velocity="1" Accuracy="1.1" WorkRate="2" WeaponRange="1" DamageTaken="0.5" />
		<Veterancy Level="5" XP="0" Damage="2" Velocity="1" Accuracy="1.2" WorkRate="2" WeaponRange="1" DamageTaken="0.5" />
		<Tactics>unsc_bldg_airPad_01.tactics</Tactics>
		<ObstructionRadiusX>14</ObstructionRadiusX>
		<ObstructionRadiusY>14</ObstructionRadiusY>
		<ObstructionRadiusZ>10</ObstructionRadiusZ>
		<TerrainHeightTolerance>10</TerrainHeightTolerance>
		<PickRadius>12</PickRadius>
		<PickOffset>3</PickOffset>
		<PickPriority>Building</PickPriority>
		<SelectType>Command</SelectType>
		<SelectedRadiusX>10.8</SelectedRadiusX>
		<SelectedRadiusZ>9.9</SelectedRadiusZ>
		<Command Type="TrainSquad" Position="1">unsc_air_hornet_01</Command>
		<Command Type="TrainSquad" Position="1">unsc_air_hawk_01</Command>
		<Command Type="Research" Position="3">cpgn_grant_hawk</Command>
		<Command Type="TrainSquad" Position="2">unsc_air_vulture_01</Command>
		<Command Type="Research" Position="7">unsc_hornet_upgrade1</Command>
		<Command Type="Research" Position="7">unsc_hornet_upgrade2</Command>
		<Command Type="Research" Position="7">unsc_hornet_upgrade3</Command>
		<Command Type="Research" Position="5">unsc_hawk_upgrade1</Command>
		<Command Type="Research" Position="6">unsc_vulture_upgrade1</Command>
		<Command Type="Kill" Position="4" />
		<Sound Type="Create">play_vog_building_airpad</Sound>
		<Sound Type="Death">play_unsc_air_pad_death</Sound>
		<Sound Type="PieceThrownOff">play_unsc_building_damage</Sound>
		<DamageType direction="Full">Building</DamageType>
		<ObjectType>Military</ObjectType>
		<ObjectType>Building</ObjectType>
		<ObjectType>ProductionBuiilding</ObjectType>
		<ObjectType>_ProductionBuildingNotBase</ObjectType>
		<ObjectType>_Building</ObjectType>
		<ObjectType>NonFlying</ObjectType>
		<ObjectType>Unsc</ObjectType>
		<ObjectType>CyclopsRepairable</ObjectType>
		<ObjectType>_LOSObstructable</ObjectType>
		<ObjectType>CanCryo</ObjectType>
		<SurfaceType>Metal</SurfaceType>
		<RallyPoint>Military</RallyPoint>
		<Socket Player="Player">BuildingSocket</Socket>
		<Flag>IgnoreSquadAI</Flag>
		<Flag>ObstructsAir</Flag>
		<Flag>KBAware</Flag>
		<Flag>KBCreatesBase</Flag>
		<Flag>SelectedRect</Flag>
		<Flag>Build</Flag>
		<Flag>Doppled</Flag>
		<Flag>Immoveable</Flag>
		<Flag>HasHPBar</Flag>
		<Flag>Invulnerable</Flag>
		<Flag>ChildForDamageTakenScalar</Flag>
		<Flag>ForceAnimRate</Flag>
		<Flag>SelectionDontConformToTerrain</Flag>
		<FlashUI>
			<CircleMenuFrameIDNormal>8</CircleMenuFrameIDNormal>
			<CircleMenuFrameIDHighlight>9</CircleMenuFrameIDHighlight>
		</FlashUI>
		<HPBar offset="0, 28, 0">UNSC_Bldg_Health</HPBar>
		<AutoParkingLot Offset="-23.75, 0, 0" Rotation="180">hook_bldg_parkingLotUNSC_01</AutoParkingLot>
		<BuildRotation>180</BuildRotation>
		<BuildOffset>-10, 0, 0</BuildOffset>
	</Object>

This post has been edited by mobius1: 03 January 2012 - 07:05 PM


#33 User is offline   mobius1 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 11-December 11

Posted 09 January 2012 - 08:30 PM

What if I change the hitpoints to 1E+38, will the squad be stronger or weaker?

#34 User is offline   kornman00 

  • SourceGuy 2.0
  • Group: Administrators
  • Joined: 15-November 01


Users Awards

Posted 12 January 2012 - 01:33 AM

That's a positive value, so they should be stronger. Anything below zero and they will probably either die before they are visibly created, or die after the first touch of anything damaging. Only way to really find out is to actually try it :P!

#35 User is offline   mobius1 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 11-December 11

Posted 13 January 2012 - 03:50 PM

I tried it and on the third level, I was granted a snowmobile grizzly.

#36 User is offline   mobius1 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 11-December 11

Posted 21 January 2012 - 11:13 PM

In the squads.xml there's a string that determines the units of a squad
<Squad name="unsc_air_hawk_01" dbid="868">
		<PortraitIcon>ui\flash\HUD\hud_menu\hud_menu_icons\final_unsc\air_hawk</PortraitIcon>
		<MinimapIcon size="8">Triangle</MinimapIcon>
		<MinimapScale>1</MinimapScale>
		<DisplayNameID>3028</DisplayNameID>
		<RolloverTextID>3029</RolloverTextID>
		<StatsNameID>25678</StatsNameID>
		<PrereqTextID>233</PrereqTextID>
		<RoleTextID>502</RoleTextID>
		<BuildPoints>19</BuildPoints>
		<Cost resourcetype="Supplies">250</Cost>
		<Cost resourcetype="Power">2</Cost>
		<SubSelectSort>7000</SubSelectSort>
		<LeashDistance>45</LeashDistance>
		<LeashDeadzone>15</LeashDeadzone>
		<LeashRecallDelay>2500</LeashRecallDelay>
		<AggroDistance>25</AggroDistance>
		<Birth trainerAnim="TrainAir" spawnpoint="bone_spawnPoint03">Trained</Birth>
		<HPBar offset="0, 7, 0">UNSC_Health</HPBar>
		<AbilityRecoveryBar Centered="UNSC_Ability_Centered">UNSC_Ability</AbilityRecoveryBar>
		<VeterancyBar Centered="UNSC_Star_Centered">UNSC_Star</VeterancyBar>
		<Units>
			<Unit count="1" role="normal">unsc_air_hornet_01</Unit>
		</Units>
		<Flag>DiesWhenFrozen</Flag>
		<Flag>Repairable</Flag>
		<Flag>KBAware</Flag>
		<Selection>
			<ConformToTerrain>false</ConformToTerrain>
		</Selection>
	</Squad>

It was designed to be an upgrade from the hornet, but it can be changed to a standalone squad by replacing the string unsc_air_hornet_01 with the string unsc_air_hawk_01. However, when you have both hornets and hawks, you can't use LB to just select the hawks because the game groups both hawks and hornets together.

This post has been edited by mobius1: 21 January 2012 - 11:19 PM


#37 User is offline   kornman00 

  • SourceGuy 2.0
  • Group: Administrators
  • Joined: 15-November 01


Users Awards

Posted 22 January 2012 - 12:03 AM

Thanks for documenting your findings. One suggestion, instead of pasting EVERYTHING from that Squad element, you can remove some of the non-relevant nested elements with "..."

eg:
<Squad name="unsc_air_hawk_01" dbid="868">
...
		<Units>
			<Unit count="1" role="normal">unsc_air_hornet_01</Unit>
		</Units>
...
</Squad>

Since the Units element was the primary focus of your last post (and anyone can use the Squad's attributes to quickly find this entry in squads.xml)

#38 User is offline   mobius1 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 11-December 11

Posted 22 January 2012 - 02:11 AM

Thanks anyways for the constructive criticism

#39 User is offline   mobius1 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 11-December 11

Posted 24 January 2012 - 02:38 AM

Is there a way to change the rate of fire on most weapons and vehicles?

#40 User is offline   mobius1 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 11-December 11

Posted 26 January 2012 - 06:27 PM

Is there a way to make scarabs board-able?

Edit: Never-mind, I might have figured it out.

This post has been edited by mobius1: 26 January 2012 - 08:03 PM


Share this topic:


  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic