Halomods Community Portal: Yelo VS Map. What did you choose? - Halomods Community Portal

Jump to content

  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Yelo VS Map. What did you choose?

#1 User is online   Masterz1337 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: CMT Person
  • Joined: 23-May 11

Posted 25 February 2012 - 12:21 AM

As of writing this post, 1/4th of SPV3 players have decided to download the non-OS version of the map. While we believe in backward compatibility, we are also slightly surprised that nearly 25% of our users are preferring not to to use OS. What we want to know for those who have chosen to download the .map file is what made you make that decision, so we can help spur a higher OS adoption rate in the past. Did you have problems installing OS? Were our instructions not clear enough, did you have a problem with performance? Let us know what influenced our decision. We can't talk about everything we have planned, but having OS a requirement in the future can lead to some really cool innovative features, but before we can even focus on that, we need to understand the choices behind those who won't/can't/haven't installed OS.

#2 User is offline   kornman00 

  • SourceGuy 2.0
  • Group: Administrators
  • Joined: 15-November 01


Users Awards

Posted 25 February 2012 - 12:27 AM

How are you coming up with 1/4th? Are you sure there aren't people downloading both?

#3 User is online   Masterz1337 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: CMT Person
  • Joined: 23-May 11

Posted 25 February 2012 - 12:45 AM

Lag's tracking it, the numbers have changed a bit since then though. Can you get on AIM?

#4 User is offline   Jaz 

  • Sky Walker
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 27-July 11
  • LocationEarth, Near The Sun, Milky Way

Posted 25 February 2012 - 12:55 AM

I got the OS version.

I think a lot of people are put off by the fact that OS is laggy for those with weak computers.
Plus VISR is INSANELY ANNOYING.
And some people are too lazy to disable the laggy and annoying features manually.

I've turned VISR off though but am still using all other OS features.

P.S. VISR is INSANELY ANNOYING. I much prefer the flashlight.

#5 User is offline   Pepzee 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 26-July 11

Posted 25 February 2012 - 01:52 AM

I got the .map version mainly because my computer doesn't have the graphical support for the .yelo version. With the .yelo version I was going at around 10 fps and with the .map I was going around 55 fps. That's my main reason, perhaps when I upgrade my computer later on down the road it will be able to handle it.

#6 User is offline   scopedknife 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 03-December 11

Posted 25 February 2012 - 01:53 AM

i got 60+fps on the yelo version... :lol:

#7 User is offline   As7raios 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 22-February 12

Posted 25 February 2012 - 02:15 AM

I got the Yelo version, but I knew for a fact my PC was going to be fine running it. It just all comes down to if people have PCs they're confident in and I know a lot of current Halo PC players don't run on decent rigs. :P

#8 User is offline   Bloodshot 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 19-February 12

Posted 25 February 2012 - 03:05 AM

Yelo all the way. I didn't think VISR was annoying at all.

#9 User is offline   shephard 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 03-January 12

Posted 25 February 2012 - 03:32 AM

YELO, 'cause it's better that way, I don't care if it overheats my PC or not (yep I did that with SPV2 betas on my old PC which was a piece of poo) I just like new features and cool stuff.

#10 User is offline   Spartan314 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 06-August 11

Posted 25 February 2012 - 04:23 AM

I got the OS version.

#11 User is offline   renegade 

  • Part-Time Spartan
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 19-October 11
  • LocationEarth

Posted 25 February 2012 - 04:50 AM

Still trying to figure out why OS won't install... Once I get that figured out, I'm thinkng of getting the Yelo version.

You start it up the same way you start up a .map file, right?

#12 User is online   Masterz1337 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: CMT Person
  • Joined: 23-May 11

Posted 25 February 2012 - 06:21 AM

Yep

#13 User is offline   TrantaLocked 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 20-December 11

Posted 25 February 2012 - 06:50 AM

I downloaded both just because, but use the .yelo version. VISR mode turned out to be cooler than I expected. The transitioning from on to off is at pro-level production quality. Whoever did that deserves some respect, as does the whole CMT team for putting this map together.

At full quality settings on .yelo I'm getting decent frame rates. To my surprise I would see some stuttering during heavy battles, but other than that I am seeing 60+ FPS with my Core 2 Duo E8400 and Radeon HD 4890.

This post has been edited by TrantaLocked: 25 February 2012 - 06:55 AM


#14 User is offline   Gary 

  • ¬ 1337
  • Group: Moderators
  • Joined: 05-May 11
  • LocationMelbourne, FL

Posted 25 February 2012 - 07:08 AM

I plan on downloading the Yelo version once I get the chance.

I will have no problem running it. And I want the full experience that CMT worked so hard to create.

#15 User is offline   Chief12 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 13-January 12

Posted 25 February 2012 - 07:53 AM

I've got a problem when open sauce doesn't find out my Halo CE though mine is full installation(not portable or something like that)
That means I have no choice but use .map
ps: any help ?

This post has been edited by Chief12: 25 February 2012 - 07:54 AM


#16 User is offline   LegioOfShadows 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 03-December 11

Posted 25 February 2012 - 10:53 AM

I DID choose .Yelo, but I'ma go .map. Why? Because it is way too laggy.

CMT promised us it would be fine... We always knew they were tricksy.

But Master is kind! Master gives us plenty of Precious.

Plenty of precious. Precious is OURS!

No! Shut up! Leave now and never come back.

PRECIOUS IS OURS! FILTHY LITTLE HOBBITSES TOOK IT!

No. Leave now, and never come back!

(Pause)

Us got Multiple Personality Disorder, we do. Us can't get rid of me eaisly.

(Epic lord of rings reference.)

#17 User is offline   Jaz 

  • Sky Walker
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 27-July 11
  • LocationEarth, Near The Sun, Milky Way

Posted 25 February 2012 - 12:09 PM

View PostLegioOfShadows, on 25 February 2012 - 10:53 AM, said:

I DID choose .Yelo, but I'ma go .map. Why? Because it is way too laggy.

CMT promised us it would be fine... We always knew they were tricksy.

But Master is kind! Master gives us plenty of Precious.

Plenty of precious. Precious is OURS!

No! Shut up! Leave now and never come back.

PRECIOUS IS OURS! FILTHY LITTLE HOBBITSES TOOK IT!

No. Leave now, and never come back!

(Pause)

Us got Multiple Personality Disorder, we do. Us can't get rid of me eaisly.

(Epic lord of rings reference.)


It is fine. I have no idea what you're talking about.

Seriously, it doesn't cost much to UPGRADE.



Oh and I got used to VISR. It was just really annoying at first because I wasn't used to it. And the sudden brightness it caused annoyed me at first. But now my eyes are adjusted and it's actually really awesome. :D

#18 User is offline   Bloodshot 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 19-February 12

Posted 25 February 2012 - 05:20 PM

You know, promises of optimization don't help you if your on old hardware. That's not their fault - better graphics = requires better hardware.

It's like the people who complained about Crysis running bad when they had single core processors.

#19 User is offline   As7raios 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 22-February 12

Posted 25 February 2012 - 06:52 PM

View PostBloodshot, on 25 February 2012 - 05:20 PM, said:

You know, promises of optimization don't help you if your on old hardware. That's not their fault - better graphics = requires better hardware.

It's like the people who complained about Crysis running bad when they had single core processors.
This. This so much. It seems ridiculous that people don't understand this simple concept when it comes to PC gaming. It's not the developer's fault your rig is terrible.

#20 User is offline   Spartan314 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 06-August 11

Posted 25 February 2012 - 07:21 PM

How would one improve graphics performance?

Share this topic:


  • 3 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users