Halomods Community Portal: How would one optimize/upgrade their computer to handle CMT? - Halomods Community Portal

Jump to content

  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How would one optimize/upgrade their computer to handle CMT?

#1 User is offline   Spartan314 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 06-August 11

Posted 28 February 2012 - 07:47 AM

How would one optimize/upgrade their computer to handle this smoothly?
I just don't know where to start.

#2 User is offline   Spartan314 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 06-August 11

Posted 29 February 2012 - 03:43 AM

View PostBloodshot, on 28 February 2012 - 07:59 AM, said:

What's your current specs?

Also I would recommend, if you plan on upgrading, you find some other games you'd like to play that you couldn't play previously, IMO upgrading for one mod, as awesome as the mod may be, just wouldn't be worth it if that's all your going to upgrade for.


Manufacturer: HP-Pavilion
Processor: Intel® Pentium® D CPU 3.20GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.2GHz
Memory: 2048MB RAM
Hard Drive: 210 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 210
Sound Card: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Keyboard: Encassa CoDefender USB Keyboard Driver
Mouse: HID-compliant mouse
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.111025-1505)

#3 User is offline   Bloodshot 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 19-February 12

Posted 29 February 2012 - 05:44 AM

I would say you only need to upgrade your video card. I would recommend one of the 500 series cards, like the 550 ti, or the 560 if you want to spend a bit more.

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814125410

/\ That one is pretty cheap for the performance your getting, and you'd probably be able to run a lot of modern games pretty well too.

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814130660

A little more expensive, but this really depends on your price range.

Of course if you have a big budget, this is always good:

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814130590

#4 User is offline   Spartan314 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 06-August 11

Posted 29 February 2012 - 06:02 AM

Gosh... I've only got 30 dollars to spend..
I guess I know what I want for Christmas this year...

That middle one looks quite appealing though.
And I already know there is NO way I'll be able to get the last one.. Maybe if I won the lottery..

This post has been edited by Spartan314: 29 February 2012 - 06:49 AM


#5 User is offline   Bloodshot 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 19-February 12

Posted 29 February 2012 - 06:50 AM

Damn, 30 bucks is it?

In that case, if you REALLY wanna go low end, something to tide you over until you can afford a better one:

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814102933

But IMO even though it's cheap, you'd be better off saving up. The performance boost you'd get from that is minimal at best.

If you can afford 10 extra bucks, this one would probably be much more worth it and better performance-wise:

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814121475


But again, IMO at least save up until you can go 75$+ on a video card, those cheap ones are hardly justified for the performance increase, and you will get way more bang for your buck out of the top ones. I got a GTX 560 Ti last year and I can max out any game, including Crysis and Crysis 2 with DX11, and they run pretty smoothly. Though with a higher end card you might run into a bottlenecking problem with your current CPU.

This post has been edited by Bloodshot: 29 February 2012 - 06:56 AM


#6 User is offline   Spartan314 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 06-August 11

Posted 29 February 2012 - 08:12 AM

Doing all this research on replacing CPUs and BIOS and other hardware stuff makes my head spin..
I don't suppose there's a way to find out whether a graphics card will work on a computer without actually testing it is there?

#7 User is offline   Gary 

  • ¬ 1337
  • Group: Moderators
  • Joined: 05-May 11
  • LocationMelbourne, FL

Posted 29 February 2012 - 08:38 AM

View PostSpartan314, on 29 February 2012 - 08:12 AM, said:

I don't suppose there's a way to find out whether a graphics card will work on a computer without actually testing it is there?


As long as your motherboard supports the minimum card slot(probably PCI-E 2.0 x16, or if it's older it might use standard PCI) of the card. It should work.


And make sure you meet the power requirements. Most (more powerful ones) need an extra power connector.

#8 User is offline   Masterz1337 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: CMT Person
  • Joined: 23-May 11

Posted 29 February 2012 - 11:23 AM

Most of CMT has a 8600GT for their graphics card.

#9 User is offline   xalener 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: CMT Person
  • Joined: 01-October 11

Posted 29 February 2012 - 02:52 PM

No matter what you do, make sure you have a Power supply unit that can handle whatever you throw in there. Seriously, that's like the most important part.

#10 User is offline   Spartan314 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 06-August 11

Posted 01 March 2012 - 07:18 PM

View Postxalener, on 29 February 2012 - 02:52 PM, said:

No matter what you do, make sure you have a Power supply unit that can handle whatever you throw in there. Seriously, that's like the most important part.

I'm not really good with hardware. How do I figure this out?

#11 User is offline   Gary 

  • ¬ 1337
  • Group: Moderators
  • Joined: 05-May 11
  • LocationMelbourne, FL

Posted 01 March 2012 - 09:16 PM

View PostSpartan314, on 01 March 2012 - 07:18 PM, said:

I'm not really good with hardware. How do I figure this out?


Look at the power supply. It says on it how many watts(should be a few hundred) it can put out.


They look like this:
http://en.wikipedia....ld-full_set.jpg
http://en.wikipedia....modular_PSU.JPG
http://en.wikipedia....e_TR2-430NW.jpg (the thing that says TR2-430W)

#12 User is offline   Spartan314 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 06-August 11

Posted 02 March 2012 - 08:56 AM

I just opened up my CPU Tower, and looked into the power unit. It says it can put out Max 300W.

And according to this: http://www.geforce.c.../specifications
It GTX 560 Ti requires at least 500W.

That means my power unit is 200W short..

#13 User is offline   LieuRob 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 17-October 11

Posted 02 March 2012 - 09:56 AM

View PostSpartan314, on 02 March 2012 - 08:56 AM, said:

I just opened up my CPU Tower, and looked into the power unit. It says it can put out Max 300W.

And according to this: http://www.geforce.c.../specifications
It GTX 560 Ti requires at least 500W.

That means my power unit is 200W short..


In a sense, the computer is quite old. Theres no point getting the higher end cards they recommended (I think, the Pentium 4 CPU will bottleneck/slow down the new gpu anyway).
As your budget is only $30, a entirely new computer is probably out of the question.
There are many budget cards I would recommend, especially the AMD 5570. It (hopefully) wont stress your PSU (it has a 250W minimum), saving you the $50 dollars to get a 500W one, and should be quiet and not heat up.
You will look at a theoretical 60% increase in general performance (The 8600gt is about 30% better than the gt210, and the 5570 30% better than the 8600gt).
The GDDR5 version is (GDDR5 generally will be faster than ddr3, meaning more performance) 49 AUS dollars. This should give you enough performance to run the game much smoother, at that budget.
If you do end up getting such a card, get someone with some know-how to run you through how to install it.

#14 User is offline   Amit 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 21-September 11
  • LocationOntario, Canada

Posted 02 March 2012 - 05:16 PM

His CPU is a Pentium D, not Pentium 4. Dual-core, but still disappointing. Really, I don't think even a new GPU will help your PC play the .yelo OS version. The GPU will be severely bottlenecked by the old GPU.

Before we can start picking and choosing what your PC can really handle, we need to know the exact model of your motherboard. This way we can see if you can drop in a more powerful CPU instead buying or building a new PC altogether.

It's possible to put together some pretty powerful rigs for cheap pricing these days, but $30 isn't going to get you anything good. You'll end up wasting money if you go for budget level GPUs. I'm guessing Halo isn't the only thing you'll want to play once you do get into the range for a better PC. A GPU around the $100 range on newegg.com is what your target should be. Something like an ATi Radeon HD 5750/HD 5770 or nvidia GeForce GTS 450/GTS 460. Those are good mainstream GPUs that can play Battlefield 3 on very high settings at mid-range resolutions (e.g. 1680x1050). This means they will cut through OS like nothing, but your CPU also needs to be up to snuff.

Pentium D is socket LGA 775, so hopefully his motherboard isn't too old and he can throw a nice Core 2 Duo or Core 2 Quad on it. The main issue is finding such old chips when the market is now saturated with newer, cheaper, and better dual-core and quad-core chips.

#15 User is offline   Spartan314 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 06-August 11

Posted 02 March 2012 - 09:12 PM

Good news! I've got $300 in the bank that I can spend, but number one on my list is getting a Xbox-360 with my brother, so I'm left with about 100-120 dollars!

I downloaded a program that shows all my hardware specs, and here it is:
Motherboard ID: 02/16/2007-Lakeport-Leonite-00
Motherboard name: Asus P5LP-LE (Leonite)
Motherboard chipset: i945G

I think that's the important stuff..

#16 User is offline   TailsTheGamer 

  • I want YOU to make a contract with me.
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 25-February 12

Posted 03 March 2012 - 01:39 AM

I currently have:
GPU: nVideo Geforce 9500 GT
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1065T 2.9GHz
MOBO: Can't remember.
PSU: Cheap Brand 500W (Needs to be replaced)
RAM: 8GB DDR3

The game runs at 15-25 FPS with everything up high at 1360x768 at 60Hertz. It runs at about 15 FPS when I use VISR.

I plan on getting http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814121446 and http://www.amazon.co.../ref=de_a_smtd. I'll need the new PSU for the 2x6 pin connectors required for the GPU. I also want just a little more then the required watt requirement.

Computer was originally the Asus Essentio CM1730-05 but I have replaced some parts including the Tower.

This post has been edited by TailsTheGamer: 03 March 2012 - 01:39 AM


#17 User is offline   Spartan314 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 06-August 11

Posted 03 March 2012 - 04:30 AM

Here's my plan.

I'm thinking of getting this, with this.

Total price comes to $370, but I live in New Zealand, so after I convert it, it comes to ...450 NZ Dollars. My birthday is soon, so I'll try and fetch the power supply first. Then after a few months of blood, sweat, and tears of saving, I should be able to get the graphics card.

Good plan?

#18 User is offline   Chief12 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 13-January 12

Posted 03 March 2012 - 04:41 AM

Mine runs CMT SPv3 well :) smoothly

Quote

CPU: Core i5 2400 3.1Ghz
RAM: 4Gb DDR3
GPU: Radeon HD 6850 1Gb DDR5
PSU: Seasonic 750W
Main: P8H67V

This post has been edited by Chief12: 03 March 2012 - 04:45 AM


#19 User is offline   LegioOfShadows 

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 03-December 11

Posted 03 March 2012 - 09:16 PM

I know the easiest way.

Go to Area 51, and steal their super Alien tech supercomputers.

That, or steal the computer reality runs on, and you will never ever have lag again.

#20 User is offline   Jaz 

  • Sky Walker
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Joined: 27-July 11
  • LocationEarth, Near The Sun, Milky Way

Posted 03 March 2012 - 11:19 PM

View PostSpartan314, on 03 March 2012 - 04:30 AM, said:

Here's my plan.

I'm thinking of getting this, with this.

Total price comes to $370, but I live in New Zealand, so after I convert it, it comes to ...450 NZ Dollars. My birthday is soon, so I'll try and fetch the power supply first. Then after a few months of blood, sweat, and tears of saving, I should be able to get the graphics card.

Good plan?


Ever heard of ebay?

PSUs should never be bought on ebay, mainly because there actually aren't any decent PSUs on Ebay at all.
Graphics cards on the other hand can be found quite cheap on Ebay if you can be bothered to search for long enough.

For pretty much every other component... Ebuyer. But then I don't live in America so I don't even know how good Newegg is.

E:
http://www.evga.com/...=01G-P3-1561-AR
You probably need a slightly more powerful power supply to run that thing, unless the rest of your components are going to be quite a bit less powerful in comparison to the gpu. But then again, you don't even need a six core cpu unless you're planning on making a movie or something expensive like that. Why people waste their money on stuff like that is beyond me. I know someone who got a super computer just to play games. What game ever needs that much power?!

This post has been edited by Jaz: 03 March 2012 - 11:23 PM


Share this topic:


  • 4 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users